Uncategorized

Not enough Time in the Day

     Does anyone else feel like there’s just not enough time in the day to do what you need? Everyone has their days, where they try to juggle being a working stay at home mom, children, pets, husband, and then on top of that house chores. Being sort of new at this, I’m still trying to spread my time so that I’m not letting anyone, or anything down. I’m still in the beginning stages of trying to figure out what helps bring in the most money, I’ve narrowed it down to three, but they still take up quite a bit of time. The reason that I wanted to be a “stay at home mom” was to spend time with my daughter, before she goes to school next year. Well It seems like I’m spending more time working then with her. But the good thing is, is that instead of being inside a building all day, I’m in my own house and with my daughter by my side the whole time.


     Back in December we adopted a puppy from the shelter. It was mine and my daughter’s Christmas present. Taking on a new puppy is almost like caring for a baby. She’s one now and a little bit out of the “puppy” stage. But she is still not the obedient dog she needs to be, so she is quite a bit of a handful. Also we just “adopted” my mother-n-law’s dog, who is 14 years old. So having a young dog and an old dog, sometimes doesn’t really match. Our big dog, Harley, thinks that our new dog, Pixie, is a toy. She wants to play, and well Pixie, was out of that stage five years ago. So therefore, having the two dogs in my presence all day, one trying to play, the other snapping at her, is not what I signed up for when trying to work at home. 


     My daughter is at the stage where she can keep herself quiet if she needs to, but doesn’t really want to. She doesnt understand “working at home” yet, she thinks I’m here to play all day. Which I wish I could, but I’m still trying to work and make some extra money, and especially with Christmas coming up, I need to make all I can. So I try to juggle my time with her. When we wake up in the morning, I make her breakfast and put on a movie, and that’s when I get most of my work done, up until lunch time. She still can’t sit quiet for very long and gets anxious when I’m not spending my time with her, or on the computer. She’s learning though. But when it’s afternoon and pretty outside, I want to be done with my work so we can go out and play. That’s the part she understands. 


     Also on top of work, my daughter, and the dogs, there’s the ever so famous “household chores”. The laundry, the cleaning, the dusting, and cooking every meal. So then again I have to set up some time to get all that done. I always try to be done with everything before my husband gets off at 6, but that’s in a perfect world. I’m working on a schedule for me during the day, I have never liked routines and schedules, so it’s hard for me to follow them, but like I said, there is just not enough time in the day for everything. But I make it work. Anyone else feel that way? 


Please share and comment. What all do you have to juggle during your day? How do you handle it all?

Leave a Reply

